Join thousands of members getting makeup for free!

Smashbox
Smashbox Photo Finish Primerizer Primer + Moisturiser 30ml

User reviews

  Based on 20 reviews

Back to product

Megan

2 reviews

Sep 24, 2020

The primer you never knew you needed

I love this primer, for a full coverage and hydration this definitely covers you for both. My face has never looked fresher when I wear this under my routine make up or a night out or even just to give my skin a fresh glow when I'm going make up free. I have combination skin and so on my dry days this is a must have primer to get the smooth dewy look and keep my skin from drying out. I would recommend any one who's looking for a great value primer to check this out, its more than a beauty product. Its a beauty must have!

Fizzah

236 reviews

Aug 9, 2020

The Best Primer!

I purchased the mini travel size of the Photo Finish Primer Water impulsively as I’d been out of setting spray and meaning to go to MAC for Fix + instead. However, after trying this as well as the other new setting spray by Smashbox - I have yet to purchase any other setting sprays! This product is worth trying because, in my opinion, seems to actually DO what it claims and serves many more important purposes beyond just feeling refreshing and smelling nice. This Primer Water I only used as a setting spray, so I can’t speak on how well it works as a primer used beneath foundation. I feel this “Primer Water” version is incredible specifically for locking in makeup, making it truly last all day while looking naturally radiant, dewy & freshly done. If you’re like me and need something SERIOUSLY “transfer-proof”, you may enjoy the Smashbox Photo Finish Setting Spray more. Especially for those who work physically intensive jobs and need their makeup to LAST throughout sometimes sweaty work shifts. That one is truly as transfer-proof as any form of makeup I’ve tried thus far. Especially considering I’m one to blend my foundation, powder, etc. into my neck — but unfortunately must wear black collared shirts for my job. Before trying the Smashbox Setting Spray, the inside of my shirt collar would be nearly white as snow (compared to the black shirt) within just minutes of putting it on. Although a few £ more than some other brands and smells, feels and appears to be nothing more than water — its MAGIC, I promise!

tasnim

61 reviews

Aug 4, 2020

Hydrates Your Face!

I have mostly dry skin, and my pores are not too big or noticeable. i use a mattifying primer around my nose because that's the only area I get oily around. I only bought this makeup setting spray to get rid of the powdery finish on my face, rather than to actually help my makeup stay on my face, because I already have a good routine to avoid my makeup from coming off. however when this primer water does a great job making my makeup look freshly applied and has definitely made a difference to how long my makeup lasts! it is also great sprayed on eyeshadow brushes to intensify the colour of your eyeshadows

zahra

90 reviews

Jul 15, 2020

amazing

I've used primers by Nars and Laura Mercier in the past, and was pretty happy. They definitely helped my concealer stay put, and Laura Mercier gave me a little glow. But I kept hearing about Smashbox's primer, and as I've been trying to move more toward cruelty-free products (Smashbox/Estee Lauder is cruelty free as of 2017), decided to give it a try. OMG, I HAD NO IDEA BEFORE WHAT A PRIMER COULD DO. See, in the past, if I happened to forget my primer step, I wouldn't really notice a difference in application/texture, just longevity. Now, if I inadvertently skip my Photo Finish primer, I see IMMEDIATELY that my concealer is wearing differently (I use Tarte Shape Tape applied with a damp beauty blender). It will look dryer, more settled into my fine lines, and overall just more makeup-y. I'll actually clean it off and reapply with my primer! Smashbox's Photo Finish primer makes my skin smooth and baby soft to the touch, and makes my concealer look like my natural skin, just with better complexion.

Sumayah

461 reviews

Jun 20, 2020

nice smooth base for makeup

This is such as good hyrdating primer for under neath your make up. It helps to pro long the wear and also the texture of your make up. I like how smoothing it is on my texture. I like how it leaves my skin to hydrated and soft with no dry or falky patches. I can always rely on this product espcially in the summer months when it gets humid. I know that this works well under liquid foundations but it is also good for under neath powder foundation as well. I like this it is well worth the money..

Grace

23 reviews

Jun 19, 2020

amazing, definitely repurchase this product.

one of the reasons i bought this product was not because of the good reviews that it has had but because i have been told by friends and people that this product is amazing as it helps your makeup stay on for a long time. And in the past i did struggle with trying to stop my makeup from sliding during the day. it feels so lightweight and my foundation looks flawless throughout the day. i use it before and after my makeup and even in my skincare routine. this product is just amazing and would definitely recommend and repurchase.

Liberty

87 reviews

Jun 17, 2020

Good hydrating primer, but too pricey

This is a mini sample of the primer and moisturiser - a little bit goes a long way with this! This product primes the skin and creates a layer between make up and skin as well as being soft and moisturising. However I'm not sure about the hype? I mean it's a good primer and moisturiser 2 in 1 but you can get very similar for fraction of the price! The primer is good but nothing amazing about it in my opinion, the ordinary primer is good too and a lot less expensive. The primer does feel very lightweight which is good and it does seem to help make up last longer x

Tilly

98 reviews

Jun 11, 2020

Good!

One of the main reasons I brought this product is because I struggle with making my makeup last all day long and the lady at the counter suggested this to me as it provides 24 hour hydration. And she was right. This is a game changer. It is meant to be 2 in 1 in terms of it increases the moisture of your skin. I use it as my skincare routine as well. It feels so lightweight and my foundation goes on flawlessly. I use it before and after makeup. One of the good things about this primer is it does not leave a white cast on your face like other primers do.

Fazila

241 reviews

May 27, 2020

24 Hour Hydration And Moisturising

One of the main reasons I brought this product is because I struggle with making my makeup last all day long and the lady at the counter suggested this to me as it provides 24 hour hydration. And she was right. This is a game changer. It is meant to be 2 in 1 in terms of it increases the moisture of your skin. I use it as my skincare routine as well. It feels so lightweight and my foundation goes on flawlessly. I use it before and after makeup. One of the good things about this primer is it does not leave a white cast on your face like other primers do.

Batool

260 reviews

May 19, 2020

great hydrating formul

This is one of my go to hydrating primers. I just love it! It helps to add some extra hydration and foundation applies nicely on top of this. I find that I can use any type of foundation with this primer and it doesn’t affect the foundation performance or wear. I also like to mix it in with foundation if I want to sheer it out or add a little life back into a more matte foundation. You really can do anything with this primer! I think any skin type could use this primer and would love it. This isn’t the type of primer that will help your makeup last longer (like a gripping primer) but I don’t mind at all as I use setting spray for that. This is definitely a staple in my collection and I would highly recommend.

Kaycia

1 review

May 17, 2020

Amazing good flawless creative.

an Amazing product, would definitely recommend this item left my makeup staying on all day and did not once glide off, this left such a flawless finish and make my skin lovely nice and glowy, my friends all use this products and recommend it to me and I will definitely buy this again , I used it just before I applied my makeup and all the products I used and just after I applied my makeup and it did a brilliant job, this brand is amazing and I love it, if you need an extra little glow then you should buy this

Erinrose

5 reviews

May 14, 2020

Never everever going back

I was a little apprehensive to buy this product as it seemed like a big upfront cost on something new but I'm so pleased I went for it. There is a surprisingly large amount of product even though the bottle looks small and only a tiny amount comes out of the pump, which then goes a long way. I love that it is a moisturiser and primer in one, it feels lovely when it goes on my akin and me and I'm not loading my face up with product before I've even started with the make up. I do have normal / dry skin so I'm always looking out for an extra moisture boost. Also, it has hydrochloric acid in which is another must have ticked off in one product. Finally, when using this as a primer some foundation issues I've been experiencing, such as fine lines appearing or clumping over dry patches have been much better so no complaonts at all, absolutely love this product. Brilliant!!

Ashna

207 reviews

May 7, 2020

Natural Radiant Dewy Freshly Done

I purchased the mini travel size of the Photo Finish Primer Water impulsively as I’d been out of setting spray and meaning to go to MAC for Fix + instead. However, after trying this as well as the other new setting spray by Smashbox - I have yet to purchase any other setting sprays! This product is worth trying because, in my opinion, seems to actually DO what it claims and serves many more important purposes beyond just feeling refreshing and smelling nice. This Primer Water I only used as a setting spray, so I can’t speak on how well it works as a primer used beneath foundation. I feel this “Primer Water” version is incredible specifically for locking in makeup, making it truly last all day while looking naturally radiant, dewy & freshly done.

Ozlem

106 reviews

May 5, 2020

One Of My Favourite Primers

honestly one of the best products ever leaves such a natural look and i love it so so much would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for an affordable product and i don’t regret wasting my slaybucks on them because it was worth it please please consider buying it if you are looking for something affordable and long lasting didn’t think i’d like it a lot but once i tried it i loved it so much and now all i can do is recommend it to others thank you and i hope you have a great day :) love it

Dawn

13 reviews

May 5, 2020

My Current Go To Primer

I have a lot of primers(probably too many) but this is the one that I use most consistently. I'm about half way through the bottle and I've had it about 4 months, so longevity is a plus for me. You really don't need much or you could end up looking a 'lil greasy. I love that it's a primer and moisturiser, it's great for on those days when you're in a hurry and might have to skip a few steps. The texture is quite runny but I find that it absorbes into my skin pretty much straight away. Pretty much any foundation I've used on top of this has my skin looking flawless, and if you combine with urban decay all nighter you can be sure you're going to have a good makeup day. I keep going back to this one and I will definitely repurchase. My skin is normal to combination and this gives me the perfect amount of hydration and doesn't make your face feel weighed down.

Ashna

207 reviews

May 4, 2020

Very Good For Any Occasion

I absolutely LOVE this primer. It is very hydrating and is amazing for use under makeup as it leaves your makeup looking flawless, it is amazing for the price and I recommend this highly to anyone with dry skin who get flakey skin after applying makeup!This is really handy for travel or days where your skin may need some extra care and hydration. The two in one formula is light weight and so easy to use and apply. The only problem is the thinness of the primer can be extremely messy when applying and go every where but you do not lose the same finish as the original smash box photo finish primer

Coral

53 reviews

Apr 27, 2020

The larger primer size! Amazing.

This is the 30ml sized primer, this one is more value for money as it’s the bigger size that they do and it lasts a really long time, so it’s not too expensive I love any primer but I really like this one by benefit as it’s really nice and creamy and not oily on your skin, it really does fill in your pores and it’s really nice and moisturising. One of the main import things about make up is priming your skin. I actually got this primer in a collection which also included the water for the face which is think is also a really good product and teamed together I think they go really nicely, I would definitely recommend this primer.

Elly

335 reviews

Apr 20, 2020

Best primer I’ve used!

I absolutely LOVE this Smashbox photo finish primer water! It is SO easy to use/apply, It's not a super fine mist,but it distributes just enough product to cover the entire face after two spritz's! I at first thought it wasn't doing much as a primer,and THEN after further use I realized it was priming my skin, it feels like you are getting actually vitamins or nutrients your skin needs after applying,and in a rush without another primer when I used this water,the foundation/base looked great,felt great and adhered to my face all day without any caking/creasing. I highly recommend it for the person on the go,or the person that's a minimalist or who hates priming their face before foundation, because this will make life so much easier! I do since I'm a MUA use other primers with this primer water, but that's because I do full glam, and I also have dry dehydrated skin type. So this really helps to moisturize, and prep and prime my flawless base. I love it. It's now a must have product for me. It's very refreshing on my skin after application. Highly recommend it!

Kelsey

151 reviews

Apr 16, 2020

Would buy again!

purchased the mini travel size of the Photo Finish Primer Water impulsively as I’d been out of setting spray and meaning to go to MAC for Fix + instead. However, after trying this as well as the other new setting spray by Smashbox - I have yet to purchase any other setting sprays! This product is worth trying because, in my opinion, seems to actually DO what it claims and serves many more important purposes beyond just feeling refreshing and smelling nice. This Primer Water I only used as a setting spray, so I can’t speak on how well it works as a primer used beneath foundation. I feel this “Primer Water” version is incredible specifically for locking in makeup, making it truly last all day while looking naturally radiant, dewy & freshly done. If you’re like me and need something SERIOUSLY “transfer-proof”, you may enjoy the Smashbox Photo Finish Setting Spray more. Especially for those who work physically intensive jobs and need their makeup to LAST throughout sometimes sweaty work shifts. That one is truly as transfer-proof as any form of makeup I’ve tried thus far. Especially considering I’m one to blend my foundation, powder, etc. into my neck — but unfortunately must wear black collared shirts for my job. Before trying the Smashbox Setting Spray, the inside of my shirt collar would be nearly white as snow (compared to the black shirt) within just minutes of putting it on. J

Kelsey

151 reviews

Apr 14, 2020

Good For Oily And Textured Skin

have a very oily skin which tends to get oilier in summers; my foundation sinks into the large pores and trust me, it is not a very lovely sight. It becomes really hard to keep makeup intact even if I am using a long lasting matte makeup product from a high end brand. And the last thing you want is all your costly makeup melting and turning you into a grease ball. I researched and found out that using a primer helps keeping the makeup intact for a long time and gives a smooth finished look. Would buy again in the future

Back to product